Reflection Post

 

Reflective Blog Post

“My goals for this class consist of being able to communicate with readers on a much larger scale. I want to be able to appeal to more than one reader. I want my writing to apply to thousands of people. I want to learn how to effectively do my job. I have the goal of being a more professional and more educated public relations student.” This is the paragraph I wrote at the beginning of this semester, exploring my goals for this course.

How has my answer to this question changed since the beginning of the semester? Well, my love for writing is still very strong and my passion for communicating with people on a large scale is still adamant. I have learned a great deal of information this semester that will be essential for accomplishing my goals. Although I do not believe I am close to mastering the objectives I have set, I am definitely headed in the right direction.

Before coming into this class, I heard of the ideas: headline, lede, portfolio and news release. I also knew about the growing popularity of blogs. However, I was oblivious to the extensive amount of information that was needed to understand these concepts.

I can now say that I have ended this semester with the ability to write an exceptional headline, lede and news release. I have endured the grueling pain of learning AP Style and incorporated it into my portfolio website, where I can show future employers the experience I have and tell them a little bit about myself. With the valuable knowledge and abilities I’ve gained from this class, I can now confidently walk into an interview and excel at whatever task is thrown my way.

What are my writing goals moving forward? Because this semester was the first time I was exposed to AP Style, I would like to further master it. The public relations field places a huge emphasis on it, and I am determined to improve my skills in this area.

Secondly, I plan to brush up on some of my grammar knowledge. It has been many years since I was in a writing-intensive course, and I felt myself second-guessing a lot of my grammatical choices.

Lastly, I want to achieve the previous goals I set at the start of the semester. I want to effectively reach a large-scale audience and have an appeal to various types of people, as opposed to just one specific crowd or reader. I believe this course has helped me get closer to this goal, but I know I can be better and more prepared before graduating.

Image credit: http://www.writehacked.com/secrets-for-great-short-story-writing/

 

Leave a comment